MAC LIP CHRONICLES

Yes. Each and every one of those lip products is a MAC product. That means that I have spent close to $320.00 just on MAC lip products–let’s not think about concealer, pencils, liners, powders and mascaras. You would think that with an arsenal of 25 lip products, there would always be one floating around in my purse.

Alas, not so. I rarely use the MAC lip products anymore. I have a couple of favorite colors for which I am always digging through my messy makeup drawer, and I am going to share that knowledge with you…now.

Don’t be frightened, my loves. I am going to go through each of these products at some point and give you the skinny on each one. But, with such a large collection, I wanted to consider each of the colors and give you the choice words for each product.

First, I want to reiterate that it is very annoying that the name of the color wears off the label on the bottom of MAC lip products. I’ve marked these anonymous containers with a (?) after the possible name. Thus, if you wanted to get the same color again, you either have to remember the name or take the old container with you. Speaking of old containers, though, a VERY redeeming quality of MAC MakeUp is that you can bring in your old containers and for every 6, you will receive a free lipstick. It’s called Back to MAC. So, let’s go by categories with links to the MAC site. The good thing about the MAC site is that if you click on a color swatch, a fairly accurate description of the color will pop up.

Lustreglass

I reviewed Lustreglass a couple of days ago. Check out my post for more information.
Overall product rating: Eh.
Colors: Beaux, Ornamental, Luminary, Love Nectar, Instant Gold(?), Pop Mode (?)

Lacquer

No longer available, I think–at least, it’s no longer on the MAC site. You may be able to find it in discount/outlet stores and on Amazon.
Overall product rating: Eh.
Colors: Varneesh

Lipgelee

No longer available–at least it’s no longer on the MAC site. You may be able to find it in discout/outlet stores and on Amazon.
Overall product rating: Splurge-worthy. Purse-worthy. (Nice feel, not too shiny)
Colors: Amber russe

Slimshine Lipstick

No longer available–at least it’s no longer on the MAC site. You may be able to find it in discout/outlet stores and on Amazon.
Overall product rating: GREAT STUFF. Splurge-worthy. Purse-worthy. (Feels great, great color pop, comfortable shine)
Colors: Most Wanted (Wonderful golden/bronze/red)

Overall product rating: Eh. (Sticky, stiff, doesn’t move around easily on my lips–great colors, though.)
Colors: Date Night (Pretty fuschia/berry pink with rainbow sparkles)

Overall product rating: Eh. (Sticky, stiff, doesn’t move around easily on my lips, leaves them feeling rough and dry–but the colors ARE to die for.)
Colors: Pink Grapefruit, Expensive, Bada Boom, Lip 65, Adventuresome (Racquel Welch collection), Pop Mode, Viva Glad V (?), C-Thru (?)

Overall product rating: Splurge-worthy, purse-worthy, and GREAT STUFF (for the frost and lustre finishes–some of the lipsticks have a better shine and feel than the lipglass).
Colors (keep in mind that I got some of these with the Back to Mac deal): New York Apple, Pink Cabana, Sophisto (?–love this color and I am fairly sure that it is Sophisto because I looked for it for so long), Dark Side (love it–dark wine color), Capricious (love this color), Sweetie (a total fave), Viva Glam V(?)

